Albrechtsberger, Johann Georg – Préludes et fugues & 3 fugues pour le temps pascal


This edition is based on the original edition published in Vienna by Artaria1 and on Muzio Clementi’s monumental Selection of Practical Harmony (four volumes, 1801, 1802, 1811, 1814). The latter contains works by twenty-five composers. The Selection of Practical Harmony, one of the first anthologies for keyboard instruments, was compiled by Clementi (1752-1832) from various manuscripts collected during his travels across Europe (1780-83, 1784-1785, 1802-10).

Johann Georg Albrechtsberger (b. 3 February 1736; d. 7 March 1809) is nowadays primarily remembered, rightly or wrongly, as a teacher of Ludwig van Beethoven… who did not fully appreciate his teaching. For indeed their conceptions of music were diametrically opposite, with Albrechtsberger looking to the past and Beethoven firmly turned towards the future. Albrechtsberger may be seen as a perfect example of the church musician.

For organ

SKU: 0186 Category:

Additional information

Weight 180 g

Albrechtsberger, Johann Georg


PERROT, Jean-Luc




XVIIIe, Baroque

You may also like…