Louis Le Quoynte (1652-1717)

Born in Ypres in 1652, Louis Le Quoynte received a musical education with the choir of St Martin’s Cathedral, which he joined in 1665. Three years later, when his voice broke, he entered the seminary in Ypres (1668-1672), then left to study philosophy (1672-1674) and theology (1674-1675) at Douai. In 1675 he entered the Society of Jesus and spent two years in the novitiate at Tournai; he was ordained priest in March 1683. During the first twenty years he spent in the Society, Louis Le Quoynte lived in several communities of the Jesuit Gallo-Belgian Province (Armentières, Béthune, Douai, Huy, Lille, Maubeuge, Mons, Valenciennes) before settling in 1699 at the Walloon college at St Omer where he died on 9 June 1717. In these various houses, Louis Le Quoynte placed his musical abilities at the service of his order taking on, in addition to his tasks as teacher, catechist or visitor of the sick, the duties of organist and prefect of music. He also distinguished himself as a composer. Up to now, four collections of printed music have been discovered of the thirteen opuses attributed to him :  the Airs spirituels nouveaux, op. 2 (Valenciennes, 1696), the Psalmi concertati, op. 6 (Antwerp, 1704), the Bouquet de fleurs (Paris, 1722) and the Compositione sacre, op. 11 (Antwerp, 1708).

  • Dixit Dominus, Chœur (SSATB), cordes, cont. (à paraître)
  • Confitebor tibi Domine, Chœur (SSATB), cordes, cont.
  • Beatus vir, Chœur (SAT), cordes, cont.
  • Laudate pueri, Chœur (SSA), cordes, cont.
  • Laudate Dominum, Chœur (SAT), cordes, cont.
  • Magnificat, Chœur (SSATB), cordes, cont.
  • De profundis, Chœur (SAT), cordes, cont.
  • Tantum ergo, Chœur (SSATB), cordes, cont.

Works published as part of the musical heritage collection of Hainaut, in collaboration with the ensemble Harmonia sacra, baroque ensemble of Valenciennes, art direction Yannick Lemaire.